1am, and I have a blossoming cold, and am up, so may as well blog;
offline again. At the hotel, no internet. This morning my phone
told me I was out of minutes, which if true means I have a serious
misunderstanding with my phone contract. But it also means I won't
be dialing up via bluetooth anytime soon, or at least not until
October 4th.
I did get a tip today that McDonald's has free wireless, believe
it or not. So that's my first stop tomorrow morning; there's one
nearby. Wonder if they have those yogurt parfaits here? Those were
helpful on the amazing drive this summer.
Unfortunately I didn't go back to AK's last class today; needed to
work on apartments. I did that, but didn't get very far. Agencies
don't seem to be much help. Decided to hire someone to help me
deal with it all, an American architect who does this kind of
thing as a sideline.
Because the sad fact is, once Friday comes around, I have to check
out of this hotel with my parents. Sure, I could go back to
Asnieres, but I want my own place, and it's hard to be in Asnieres
with the smoke and all the people. Though I will miss N a lot, and
want to make sure I see a bunch of her anyway.
I'm bloody tired of looking for apartments.
I set my parents off to go to the Musee d'Orsay while I did some
apartment stuff, and went to CNRS in Ivry-sur-Seine to drop off my
documents. Was told there that because my domicile is technically
Asnieres, which is outside of Paris, I would have to get my carte
de sejour on my own (wait in line several hours to get an
appointment for several months from now) instead of CNRS being
able to do it for me. I told the helpful CNRS person that I was
about to move to Paris, as soon as humanly possible, could it all
wait a week? Eventually she was able to confirm: it can wait, but
not too long. I signed as many documents as possible, leaving the
address blank.
So, another reason to get an apartment, not as though I needed
any.
I'm sposed to be giving a talk in Lisbon on the 6th, haven't
started it, haven't heard back from C about how I'm to get there,
maybe should cancel.
Had a few drinks today at the Bombardier with a semantics friend
EM, in town for the festivities this weekend. He had just gotten
in from Japan this morning, and hadn't slept yet. (A reminder that
as much of a wreck as I felt this afternoon, it was still merely
amateur.) Nice to talk to him about evidentials and things. My
parents joined us, which put a damper on the linguistics talk, but
only a little. EM and I were explaining some data to them, some of
which crucially involved swear words, so I used, er, mentioned,
more instances of the f-word in front of my parents within fifteen
minutes than I think I ever had before in my life.
Dinner with parents and N. Parents were really quite sweet. N too.
Now can't seem to sleep. Bit noisy in here; some snoring inside
and some motorcycles outside, so that doesn't help too much. No
earplugs. Ah well.
Wednesday, September 28, 2005
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment