Another off-line entry...
Last night I took D and M to the Bom; it took us a while to get there, by which point poor Js had already finished his first pint and was into another, waiting for us. D and M were pretty jet-lagged and it had been hard to wake them up! Eventually we made it there, though. And it is quite an impressive place if you can sit outside, because it's got a spectacular view of the Pantheon, so I was glad to take D and M there.
We did some hanging out with Js and his friend Ol, after which they took us to a bistro down the street that had MUCH better meat than the lunchtime place (in fact, prize-winning meat), and atmosphere and ambience and real French people playing the accordian and singing and dancing. And we got to practice some French with Ol and Js, but they both speak English so there was no need to speak French. We had two bottles of a cote du rhones, very nice.
D said at one point, ah, this is what I want to do in Paris: hang out. Not to go to the Louvre for like the fourth time. (Though there will be some of that too, no doubt.)
Anyway, we had a fun time, went back to l'hotel de Brissac and went to sleep, even though M was getting something of a third wind... D and I were pretty exhausted.
This morning we are going to stop at the market at Bastille to get some cheese, then go to Pigalle in the 18th to see a friend of D and M's, MaNo, who lives around there, for brunch. MaNo has an extremely fresh baby who I'm looking forward to meeting!
Just a note to coo over my new puter...you open it up and it wakes up immediately! You download Thunderbird and it just works! Sheesh.
Monday, October 31, 2005
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment