Wednesday, December 14, 2005

Back at the Café Français

So I forget if I've explained that my office is moving, from its satellite site to an on-campus site. It was sposed to be this week. In fact, our internet has already been cut off, or it was sposed to be cut off, earlier in the week. So yesterday I didn't bother going in and worked from home instead.

Not wanting to spend another day cooped up at Hôtel de Brissac, lovely though it is, I've migrated to the Café Français again, in the place de la Bastille, for my hot chocolate and croissant. The hot chocolate is rather serious here; hopefully it won't give me too much of a buzz! I'll be getting back to my paper that I abandoned a couple of weeks ago to work on the talks. I'm fully anticipating having to do some of what GF calls "tree-staring" to get myself back into the project. That's all right. There's a tree right here, as well as some good people-watching.

Last night I went out to dinner, as I said, with Nn and VH and another friend of theirs, to give Nn a good send-off back to the states. We went to this place "Chez Papa" (a chain, evidently) in the 14th. Serious salad. Well, there was lettuce...and tomatoes...but also a slice of ham and chunks of bleu sheep's cheese and another kind of cheese and a large amount of fried potatoes. VH even got hers with a fried egg on it. I'm not sure that we can really call these salads, in the end. Though it's not entirely clear what we can call them.

VH, an MIT student who grew up in Paris, is here until after Christmas, and she is going to introduce me this weekend to some other French/American bicultural girlfriends of hers who live here permanently. She says that they will be excited to have an American friend here.

Nn's comment was, "So how come you didn't introduce ME to your bicultural girlfriends while I was here?"

Other one plan for the weekend is to go ice skating with N on the temporary ice rink by the Hôtel de Ville. My mom says there's sposed to be one on the first floor of the Eiffel Tower, which I'd also like to check out, though I suspect it's super cher.

No comments: