Yesterday I got a call from JD. He had taken the 30th off because May 1st is a holiday, and was at a bookstore, where he had just missed the last step going down some stairs, when he heard a loud CRACK and felt some serious pain on the top of his foot.
I was at St. Denis but I followed his progress throughout the day by phone... he actually went to my house to drop off the thing he had been buying for me in the fateful bookstore, then went home, did some errands, etc. But by the afternoon, things were getting bad enough with the foot that he called his doctor. He limped there, using a golf club as a cane, and she sent him to the emergency room to get an x-ray.
Which is where I met up with him, near Champigny on his RER line. He was rather chill about the whole ordeal. The emergency room was pretty laid-back too, and everyone was very nice, so it wasn't too bad waiting around. The doctor took some practice swings with the golf club, and we met an Australian woman knitting a glove, along with her 8-year-old son who, though nominally tri-lingual (dad was Spanish) refused to speak English as a matter of principle.
The eventual verdict on the foot: a torn ligament. They put it in a resin cast, complete with plastic bag so as to not get it wet in the shower. JD was able to walk on it, so amazingly, we walked back to the RER. Very slowly, with the golf club.
So all in all, not so bad. He'll need to have the cast for four weeks, and then after another two weeks the ligament should be all healed. Could have been much worse, like another woman there that night who had broken three bones in her foot, which was, according to the nurse, "Smurf blue" (bleu strompf). JD mentioned to me today that this adventure was making him not take his health for granted. Indeed! It could also have been much worse had he not been French. With the health system here, he paid less than 200€ out of pocket, which will be entirely reimbursed within 72 hours. Not bad.
*The title of this post is literally "It's the foot," which idiomatically means "It's great." Meant sarcastically in this case, of course. ;)
Tuesday, May 01, 2007
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
1 comment:
It's Schtroumpf ! :) I needed 5 minutes to figure out how to spell it too. So don't worry about that sweetie :****
Anyway, you can call me Oedipus this days... Not because of what you heard about his family stories but because the etymology means "Swallen feet"... :)))
Post a Comment