Transit workers went on strike today -- the most complete strike in 12 years. There are laws to provide "minimal service," to keep the country from being entirely shut down, but the minimal service is pretty damn minimal compared to other strikes I've seen. "Quasi nul" is the official phrase.
The strike was supposed to end at 8pm tonight, and innocent that I am, I thought it would. No such luck. Some of the unions are extending their strike through tomorrow. One train in three tomorrow on the métro.
For me, it's not a problem. I can always work at home. I did that today. In fact, I haven't left the house today. I'm a bit stir-crazy, but it saves me six flights of stairs.
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment