Sports commentary is good French for me to listen to, as they usually don't talk over one another.
In no particular order...
| l'entraineur (m.) | 'the coach' (but entraineuse is usually 'prostitute') | ||
| l'échappée (f.) | 'the start/breakaway' | ||
| la manche | 'the heat' (literally 'sleeve') | ||
| la série | 'the heat' | ||
| l'épreuve (f.) | 'the trial, heat' (but also a stage of a multi-stage event) | ||
| la finale | 'the final' (match/race) | ||
| le relais | 'the relay' | ||
| le couloir | 'the lane (on a track)' | ||
| la ligne d'eau | 'the lane (in a pool)' | ||
| la sortie | 'the dismount' | ||
| le virage | 'the bend (in a track)' | ||
| le tir à l'arc | 'archery' | ||
| le simple messieurs/dames | 'men's/women's singles' (tennis) | ||
| l'haltérophilie (f.) | 'weightlifting' | ||
| le/la leveur/leveuse | 'weightlifter' | ||
| le/la basketteur/euse | 'basketball player (m./f.)' | ||
| médailler | 'to medal' | ||
| médaillé d'argent | 'won the silver' | ||
| double/triple médaillé | 'medalled twice/thrice' (JD, I put 'thrice' just for you :) | ||
| prendre sa revanche | 'to get even' | ||
| perdre d'un rien | 'to lose by a hair' | ||
| And I'd be remiss if I didn't mention some English borrowings I heard: | |||
| le top dix | 'the top ten' (cf. les dix premiers) | ||
| c'est des warriors | 'they're warriors' | ||
| ze big man | 'the big man' | ||
| la recordwoman | 'the (female) recordholder' | ||
| le starting block | 'the starting block' | ||
As usual, francophones, let us know any précisions or corrections.
3 comments:
My input:
First, it's les Jeux Olympiques.
The breakaway is "l'échappée"
"le/la leveur/leveuse" have you actually heard this? Technically the weightlifter is "l'haltérophile".
Be careful, if "médailler" as a verb is "to medal", you don't use it as a verb with the type of medal or the number, it's only as a past participle with an adjective value that you use it this way:
"médaillé(e) d'argent"
"double/triple médaillé(e)"
Also, concerning the English borrowings, they are of two types.
The ones made by the announcers because some French people think it's cool to (poorly) use English words in their speech (a little bit just like some English speakers like to poorly use some French words in theirs) and English words that are indeed part of the French language (and they're common in sports)
-Announcer Englishisms:
"c'est des warriors"
"ZE big man"
-Words that are part of the French lexicon:
"le top dix"
"la recordwoman" (and "le recordman" too)
"le starting block"
Hope this helps. :-)
Thanks David! Corrections made.
I did hear leveur, so given your comment, I believe it would be in the sense that you might hear lifter instead of weightlifter in English.
As for the borrowings, yes, I had been thinking of splitting them into those categories (we would call the borrowings in the moment "nonce borrowings")... the trouble was I didn't know which category to put le top dix into...
bardzo ciekawe, dzieki
Post a Comment