Tuesday, November 01, 2005

Back to email normalcy, soon

I'm sitting at the Cafe Francais at Bastille, with my new computer (whose name is plusqueparfait, going along with naming my computers after kinds of verbs, and in French to honor my new digs!), and I almost almost almost have my mail program going with all functionality. I have my directory structure, I just can't get the filters to work perfectly because when it can't find a folder it wants to filter a message into, it crashes.

But! Getting very close.

I got an extension on my paper, so I'll be working on that today once I'm done putting plusqueparfait together a bit more. I did manage to install LaTeX yesterday, and got a lot done on the paper, including a key d xample that allowed me to rule out an analysis I was having trouble ruling out. (The key example for those curious was "#Zoe may be at the party, but she isn't.")

Really, I'm in a lovely mood. When I got home last night I had to wait for D and M to get back with the key, since the one I had made doesn't work (well, it works on one side of the door and not the other; guess which one). So I waited at a cafe, this cafe in fact, and yes, could have used the wireless, but instead just sat and enjoyed Bastille and the few children who walked by in costume for Halloween.

Then D and M joined me and I got cranky and cold sitting outside so I went back and warmed up chez moi. Eventually they came back and we watched some of their documentary on Napoleon...wow, I really hadn't known much about him. Pretty interesting guy. I also hadn't realized that it was so soon after the Revolution that the French crowned him Emperor. Or rather, he crowned himself Emperor.

D and M went out then to MN's in the 18th, and I had a lovely sleep (after all, I have to work today.... but it is a holiday because it's All Saints' Day. I get the feeling that there is no such thing as a normal 5-day week in France).

D and M got in at 5 in the morning!

And...there is a problem wiht my air mattress. A slow leak. I mean, that's been going on for a while, but the slow leak is not quite as slow as it was previously. So we need to deal with that. Right now they are sleeping on my futon, but we're going to have to figure something else out for tonight. Once D leaves tomorrow M and I can share the futon for the couple of extra nights she's staying.

But boy is it nice to have a curtain...I'll take a photo sometime, it's lovely yellow with blue fleurs and the sun comes in and it's great. I had put the bottom of it into a hamper a foot or so away from the wall, because there's a radiator there and I don't want to start a fire, and D made the comment that the hamper was barfing the curtain. But still, it's very nice.

No comments: