Tuesday, January 10, 2006

Some words I don't use

Okay, doing a bit better with the sleeping thing. Was asleep before midnight, awake around 3. I'll try to sleep some more soon. In the meantime, I thought I would write about some French words that I don't seem to use much yet, though I hear them a lot.

D'accord

D'accord is French for 'okay,' not in the sense of something being okay but in other senses. I still just tend to use okay, which people understand anyway. Though now that I have realized it I am trying to use d'accord. (Also, to ask someone if they are okay you say "ça va?" instead; that's something I have been having trouble getting used to.)

Voilà

This word means what you think it does, only it's used far more often than one would expect. Sometimes it's a sort of transition word, a kind of getting back to the point. I never seem to think of it at the right time.

Vachement

Yes, the cows again. To refresh your memory, this one means 'really,' but sounds like it should mean 'cow-ly.' I still can't bring myself to use it, not really because of the cows but because it feels so slangy to me that it would be a joke for me to say it. But people use it a lot. Okay, maybe it really is because of the cows.

Quoi

At the end of a sentence, quoi (literally 'what'), with no intonational rise, means something like adding huh to the end of the sentence without adding an intonational rise. I think. So "Elle vient pas, quoi." means something like "She's not coming, huh." I'd say that this was like the snooty British use of what at the end of sentences, but I've only ever seen it written in books so I'm not sure how it's intoned!

1 comment:

Anonymous said...

This was fun to read! I was chatting (trying to anyway) with a French woman a few days ago and realized how rusty my French skills had gotten. Next time I see her I'll have to remember to sneak in a few of these words. (BTW, in Finnish the modifier 'pig-' is used kind of like the French use 'vachement'...)
-e.