I don't think I've blogged about the runaway hit single that came out of the Zidane headbutting fiasco in the World Cup final. Some guys did a catchy song that got picked up in a major way, and someone's now making a lot of money off the ringtones. The title is "Coup de Boule," which means 'headbutt,' using boule instead of tête for 'head'. The lyrics are here. Coup de boule à gauche... coup de boule à droite...
Some months ago, a group released a song called "Chirac en prison." The lyrics (French only) aren't wildly clever, all they say is that this girl wants to see Chirac in prison. (He's so corrupt that his being president seems to be the only thing keeping the indictments away.) But it was a big deal. CANAL+, a (or "the") big pay cable channel, was the only one that was willing to pick the song up and run with it, in the form of a video made by Les Guignols de l'Info, the Spitting Image-like political puppet show. On the video you can observe a puppet of Chirac's wife going to all the other TV stations telling them not to play the song, as well as puppets of the entire band.
Finally, back in the day, there was a sketch comedy group called Les Inconnus ('The Unknowns'). JD and his brother turned me onto this spoof rap video of theirs. It's three rich white young French guys complaining about their lives -- the fact that they live in the boring rich suburbs (Auteuil, Neuilly, Passy... and that's the title of the song) that the one guy couldn't drive his Ferrari when he got it (because he was only five), that the women are boring, that going to the best schools and, at worst taking over dad's business, is all already mapped out for them. And the immortal line, "Salut, tu (kiss) vas (kiss) biehhhhhn?" Lyrics here, just in French. For my parents, noo, and Jo and Cn, look out for "Y en a marre du Fauchon, du Hédiard..." 'I've had it with Fauchon, with Hédiard...': Those are the fancy food stores I took you guys to!
Tuesday, September 12, 2006
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment