I went to the doctor today, actually to two different doctors, where one examination was a subset of the other, and each had a different form to fill out. Now why couldn't the one doctor have done both forms? Oh right...because this is France. Both doctors were in the 6th, quite near Jf's parents' apartment actually (I peeked down their tiny street and thought hello, I don't know if they are there or not).
Anyway, at first I thought I was not going to have to take the eye test because I couldn't understand the pre-recorded instructions in French. But the doctor read the instructions for me and explained when I needed explaining and switched the slides manually. And guess what? My far vision is "un peu pire," a little worse than normal. She said that this happens a lot to people who use computers and spend a lot of time staring at bright nearby things. She asked me if I have trouble at the cinema. No, never noticed anything!
Once I get a social security card, she said to call her and she'll give me the name of an ophthawhoosits (I know there are two different words for eye people, but I've never had to know the difference) so I can get a real eye exam. I'm skeptical...but nothing wrong with checking it out, I guess.
Did some errands, next going to work on my talk for Stuttgart. It's very sunny and very cold. Well, it was down around freezing this morning, so very cold for Paris.
Wednesday, November 23, 2005
Subscribe to:
Post Comments (Atom)
No comments:
Post a Comment